UFC 232 – How to Watch, Times and Fight Card

On Saturday the UFC promotes its final pay-per-view event of 2018. The Forum in Inglewood, California is the venue for a 13-fight card that promises to end the MMA year with a bang.

The venue is a major bone of contention, as the show was initially supposed to take place at the T-Mobile Arena in Nevada. After trace amounts of Turinabol were found in Jon Jones’ system, the Nevada State Athletic Commission refused to clear the former champion to compete, citing a lack of time to properly investigate the situation.

The California State Athletic Commission did, however, agree to licence Jones to fight, which meant the entire card was moved on short notice to a new location. That has presented the promotion, and more importantly the fighters on the card, with a bunch of logistical problems leading into the event. Strap yourselves in, because this is not going to be your typical fight week.

All controversy aside, this remains one of the better UFC offerings of 2018. Two enthralling title bouts sit at the top of the card, with a strong supporting cast underneath.

In the main event, Jon Jones rematches his most challenging foe to date, Alexander Gustafsson. The two first met at UFC 165 in 2013, in a bout widely considered to be one of the best in UFC history. Jones won by unanimous decision.

Jones approached their first bout as the seemingly unbeatable UFC light-heavyweight champion. This time “Bones” will step into the cage without that same aura. Having been stripped of the UFC title on two separate occasions — and an interim belt once too for good measure —  the 31-year-old will be hoping to claim the vacant light-heavyweight title in California.

In the co-main event, the first ever genuine female superfight in MMA history pits the world’s best at 145 and 135 pounds against each other. Cristiane “Cyborg” Justino and Amanda Nunes have dominated their respective divisions and meet for Cyborg’s featherweight title on Saturday.

Make no mistake, Amanda Nunes is the most skilled and dangerous opponent the dominant featherweight champion has faced in her 13-year pro career. Nunes’ obliterated Ronda Rousey and Miesha Tate and holds a pair of wins over recently crowned UFC flyweight champion Valentina Shevchenko. Whoever emerges victorious at UFC 232 will stand alone as the greatest female fighter of all time.

The full UFC 232 card is detailed below, including the broadcast times on both sides of the pond. Be sure to bookmark this page and check back throughout the week as any last-minute changes to the line-up and schedule will be updated right here.

Main Card – Pay-Per-View (U.S.), BT Sport 2 (UK): 10PM Eastern, 7PM Pacific, 3AM UK

  • Jon Jones vs. Alexander Gustafsson – UFC Light-Heavyweight Title
  • Cristiane “Cyborg” Justino vs. Amanda Nunes – UFC Women’s Featherweight Title
  • Carlos Condit vs. Michael Chiesa
  • Ilir Latifi vs. Corey Anderson
  • Chad Mendes vs. Alexander Volkanovski

Preliminary Card – FOX Sports 1 (U.S.), BT Sport 2 (UK): 8PM Eastern, 5PM Pacific, 1AM UK

  • Andrei Arlovski vs. Walt Harris
  • Cat Zingano vs. Megan Anderson
  • Douglas Silva de Andrade vs. Petr Yan
  • B.J. Penn vs. Ryan Hall

Early Prelims – UFC Fight Pass: 6.30PM Eastern, 3.30PM Pacific, 11.15PM UK

  • Andre Ewell vs. Nathaniel Wood
  • Uriah Hall vs. Bevon Lewis
  • Curtis Millender vs. Siyar Bahadurzada
  • Brian Kelleher vs. Montel Jackson
Categories
UFC

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RELATED BY

  • UFC Nashville Betting Preview

    Going to keep it short and sweet, so going to fly through who my picks are for this week. Marlon Vera v Frankie Saenz I’m keen on Vera here,...
  • UFC Nashville weigh-in results

    All 12 fights at UFC Nashville will go ahead despite one fighter not making weight. In the main event of the evening, Stephen ‘Wonderboy’ Thompson will meet Anthony ‘Showtime’...
  • UFC Nashville Main Event Preview

    This weekend the UFC stops in at the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tennessee, where Stephen “Wonderboy” Thompson (14-3-1) clashes with Anthony “Showtime” Pettis (21-8) in the main event for...
  • UFC

    The Jorge Masvidal Effect

    This past weekend in thrilling and shocking fashion, Masvidal viciously knocked out the behemoth welterweight that is Darren Till and left the O2 arena stunned in silence. It seemingly...